Institutional Accreditation


Subject and objectives of the procedure

The Institutional Accreditation provides Higher Education Institutions (HEI) with a detailed review on the institution in all its entirety. The procedure assesses whether the following areas of the HEI correspond with European standards:

  • Mission and Profile of the HEI;

  • Governance and  Quality Management;

  • Teaching and Studies;

  • Research;

  • Support Processes;

  • Resources;

  • Publication.

The Institutional Accreditation is in line with usual international "Benchmarks", that allow to determine the institution’s own quality beyond national scopes. Hence, the Procedure is particularly relevant for internationally-orientated HEI.

A successful Institutional Accreditation is valid for 6 years (initial accreditation) or 8 years (re-accreditation).

Procedural Steps

  • preparatory discussion about the procedure and conclusion of contract

  • appointment of the review panel (5 experts - three members from Higher Education Institutions including one country expert of the HEI’s country, one student member and one member from the professional field) 

  • compilation of a self-evaluation report according to the FIBAA Assessment Guide 

  • site visit of 2,5 - 3 days at the HEI 

  • compilation of the assessment report by the review panel

  • statement on the report by the HEI 

  • final accreditation decision of the F-ACC

  • possibility of a complaint to the procedure with an email to info[at] or an complaints procedure regarding the committee’s decision 

  • publication of the accreditation report

Benefits of an Institutional Accreditation with FIBAA

  • long term experience in the field of accreditation

  • a pool of 750 proven international experts in their respective fields

  • consideration of the HEI’s individual needs (e.g. regarding the selection of review panels; the arrangement of the site visit; the statement of the HEI on the report)

  • the FIBAA Assessment Guide guarantees that all necessary information is given to the review panel and defines the scope of assessment

  • one project manager is at the HEI’s disposal during the whole accreditation procedure

  • short duration of the procedure of approximately 9 months (from submitting the self-evaluation report until the final decision)

FIBAA Quality Seal for Institutional Accreditation

For Higher Education Institutions (HEI) which establisched themselves in the market and have proven their excellent quality in studies and teaching FIBAA can, within the scope of an accrediation process, additionally award its Premium Seal. This distinction confirms that the HEI clearly exceeds the quality standards. 

FIBAA is the only quality assurance agency that awards a Premium Seal for Institutional Accreditation: Strategic Management. Information about the Principles for Awarding the FIBAA Premium Seal are available here.

FIBAA-Qualitätssiegel Institutional Accreditation

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Verfahrens erhalten Sie unser Qualitätssiegel FIBAA Institutional Accreditation. Damit dokumentieren Sie, dass Ihre Hochschule eine innovative, zukunftsorientierte und unternehmerisch denkende und handelnde Institution ist.

FIBAA Accreditation and Certification Committee


  • Prof. Dr. Peter Thuy, IU International University

Vice President

  • Prof. Dr. Vera de Hesselle, Bremen University of Applied Sciences
  • Dr. Markus A. Tomaschitz, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of FH JOANNEUM  

Other members

Representatives from academia

  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Altmann, University of Innsbruck and MCI Management Center Innsbruck
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Benning, Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Hasewinkel, VICTORIA | International University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof., dipl. Ing. ETH, lic. oec. publ. Jürg Kessler, University of Applied Sciences Graubünden
  • Prof. Dr. Anne Lequy, Magdeburg-Stendal University of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Social Work, Health and Media
  • Prof. Dr. Marco J. Menichetti, University of Liechtenstein, Dean Liechtenstein Business School
  • Prof. Dr. Ruedi Nützi, School of Business of the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Remdisch, Leuphana University of Lüneburg
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Renninger, East Bavarian Technical University Amberg-Weiden
  • Prof. Dr. Ottmar Schneck, SRH Fernhochschule Riedlingen - The Mobile University
  • Prof. Dr. Johann Schneider, former Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. John Slof, UAB - Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • Prof. Em. Dr. György Széll, University of Osnabrück
  • Prof. Dr. Friedrich Thießen, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Weigand, WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management, Vallendar
  • Prof. Dr. Cornelia Zanger, Chemnitz University of Technology

Representatives from professional practice

  • Karl-Peter Abt, former Managing Director of the IHK
  • Dr. Bernd Baasner, formerly of Bayer AG
  • Dr. Ivo Matser, CEO of the IEDC Bled School of Management in Slovenia and CEO of the Academy of Business in Society (abis-global), Brussels
  • Hans-Hellmuth Retzlaff-Schröder, Lufthansa AG
  • Kerstin Wagner, Deutsche Bahn AG
  • Dr. Mathias Winde, Donors' Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany

Representatives from the student body

  • Elisa Knief, Student at the University of Bremen
  • Fabian Wolf, Student at the Ruprecht Karl University of Heidelberg
  • Sophia Pascher, Student at the Berlin School of Economics and Law


The amended Rules of Procedure of the FIBAA Accreditation and Certification Committee (F-ACC) as of 26 November 2021 can be found here.

The dates for the next meetings of the FIBAA Accreditation and Certification Committee are available here.


The FIBAA Expert Committee

The FIBAA Expert Committee for programme accreditation, institutional accreditation and certification appoints experts for each accreditation or certification procedure. The F-ACC elects two university representatives, one practice representative and one student from among its members to the FIBAA Expert Committee.

Members of the Panel Appointing Committee:

  • Student body: Marie-Luise Meier, as substitute: Ms. Knief

  • Science: Prof. Schneider, Prof. Széll, as substitute: Prof. Altmann and Prof. Remdisch

  • Career practice: Karl-Peter Abt, as substitute: Kerstin Wagner


We look forward to your enquiry

FIBAA stands for reliable support in quality development.
We look forward to walking the path together with you.

Please send us your enquiry.


Please contact us!

International Procedures